Text Size:SmallerNormalLargerPrint PageE-mail Page

DW McMillan Names Scholarship RecipientsDW McMillan Names Scholarship Recipients

BREWTON, AL – D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital recently awarded scholarships to nine (9) graduating seniors from T. R. Miller High School, W.S. Neal High School and Flomaton High School.

“Through the scholarship process, we are able to reward the effort of the students, as well as provide assistance to those destined for fields of study that match our healthcare system,” Stacy Hines, Administrator of D.W. McMillan said. “We wish all the 2024 seniors the best of luck in the future.”

Hines said that the scholarship applicants this year were all exceptional. The hospital awarded a $500 scholarship to nine applicants heading into a health-related field of study for a total of $4,500. The senior classes of 2025 will have an opportunity to apply for these scholarships next spring.

Scholarship winners were: Ella Carden, Olivia Beasley, Jayron Blackmon, Peyton Boling and Belle Walker from T.R. Miller High School; Sara Hammac, Emma Joyner and Baylie Wyatt from W.S. Neal High School; and Makenna Alverson from Flomaton High School.

The scholarship recipients are majoring in various healthcare fields of study ranging from nursing to pharmacy to pre-med. Some are attending Coastal Alabama Community College, while others will attend the University of South Alabama, Auburn University, Troy University, University of Alabama, and UAB.