Text Size:SmallerNormalLargerPrint PageE-mail Page

Jenny Blancheri is the winner of D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital\'s Women's Center grand prize drawing. She is standing next to female Radiology Manager, Kathy McGill.

November 17, 2014

BREWTON, AL - Jenny Blancheri is the winner of D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital's Women's Center grand prize drawing. Blancheri receives the Four Diamond Spa Package from Hilton Sandestin that includes a 50-minute serenity massage, a 30-minute marine refresher facial and a basic pedicure. She also receives a $50 gift card for lunch.

"The drawing was part of our breast cancer awareness campaign during the month of October," said Kathy McGill, hospital radiology manager. "We hope to continue educating women on the importance of getting a mammogram to detect breast cancer as early as possible."

The healthcare professionals at the Women's Center urge everyone to like their Facebook page, but more importantly want women to schedule an annual mammogram. According to the American Cancer Society, one in eight women will get breast cancer in their lifetime and the chances of finding and treating cancer are greatly enhanced by early detection.

"I stumbled on the Women's Center when I came in for a chest x-ray," said Blancheri. "I was impressed when they brought me into the Women's Center. It is so nice! If I had known how nice it was, I wouldn't have waited so long to get my mammogram."

The Women's Center of D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital was renovated in October 2013. The renovated center includes digital mammography, ultrasound, a modern waiting room and private dressing rooms. To schedule an appointment or call for more information about mammography or the Women's Center call (251) 809-8127.

The Women's Center awareness campaign was conducted through their Facebook page at www.facebook.com/dwwomenscenter. Entrants who liked the page were entered into the giveaway drawings. In addition to the grand prize package won by Blancheri, there were also weekly basket winners during the month of October. Winners included Allison Nalty, Breanne Bryant, Candice Carnley and Jennifer Wilson.