DW McMillan Awards Local Scholarships

BREWTON, AL - D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital recently awarded scholarships to nine (9) graduating seniors from T. R. Miller High School, W.S. Neal High School and Flomaton High School.

"Through the scholarship process we are able to reward the effort of the students, as well as, provide assistance to those destined for fields of study that match our healthcare system," Chris Griffin, administrator at D.W. McMillan said. "We wish all the 2016 seniors the best of luck for the future."

Griffin said that because the scholarship applicants this year were all exceptional, the hospital decided to award a $500 scholarship to each applicant for a total of $4,500. The senior classes of 2017 will have an opportunity to apply for these scholarships next spring.

Scholarship winners were: Aliyah Anderson, Katherine Benson, Breann Huff, Lena Nettles and Micah Nowling from T.R. Miller High School; Cacey Mendoza and Sapphire Stallworth from W.S. Neal High School; and Skye Kervin and Matthew Ledford from Flomaton High School.

Students are awarded these scholarships based on academic performance, activities and leadership positions, program of study that closely matches a healthcare career, student's rational for scholarship consideration and recommendation letters regarding the students personal characteristics and personal responsibility. D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital has awarded more than 100 scholarships to local graduating students over the last 10 years.

About D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital
Governed by the Escambia County Healthcare Authority Board of Director, D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital is an acute care hospital that has been a part of the Brewton, Alabama, community for over fifty years. The hospital's facilities include an eight bed intensive care unit; a 24 hour emergency room; general medical, surgical and obstetrical services; and a women & infants unit. In addition, D.W McMillan offers programs and support to area citizens through health education.