2015 Scholarship Winners have been announced.


BREWTON, AL - D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital recently awarded scholarships to eleven (11) graduating seniors from T. R. Miller High School, W.S. Neal High School and Flomaton High School.

"Through the scholarship process we are able to reward the effort of the students, as well as, provide assistance to those destined for fields of study that match our healthcare system," Chris Griffin, administrator at D.W. McMillan said. "We wish all the 2015 seniors the best of luck for the future."

Griffin said that because the scholarship applicants this year were all exceptional, the hospital decided to award a $500 scholarship to each applicant for a total of $5,500. The senior classes of 2016 will have an opportunity to apply for these scholarships next spring.

Scholarship winners were: Krystal Bell, Jaden Chandler, Taylor Hendrieth and Ronald Young from T.R. Miller High School; Hannah Corcoran, Crystal Moffett, Tykeria Nolan and Breanna Woodcock from W.S. Neal High School; and Anfinity Hayes, Madison Presley and Netanya Simmons from Flomaton High School.

Their chosen fields of study range from physical therapy to nursing to pharmacy. Some are attending Jefferson Davis Community College, while others will attend the University of South Alabama, Auburn University, University of Alabama, Fortis Institute and UAB.

About D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital
Governed by the Escambia County Healthcare Authority Board of Director, D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital is an acute care hospital that has been a part of the Brewton, Alabama, community for over fifty years. The hospital's facilities include an eight bed intensive care unit; a 24 hour emergency room; general medical, surgical and obstetrical services; and a women & infants unit. In addition, D.W McMillan offers programs and support to area citizens through health education.